APA Hawai’i 2018 Chapter Awards

APA Hawai'i Chapter


Wednesday, February 6, 2019
noon - 1 p.m. HST

Honolulu, HI, United States

CM | 1

Add to My Log


Annual awards are given by APA Hawai’i to recognize individuals, communities, private organizations, public agencies, and professional planning and design firms whose work exemplifies the planning profession’s highest goals and ideals.  Twenty-one nominations were received in seven categories for the 2018 awards.  Award nominations were reviewed and winners selected by a jury of professional planners from the APA Hawai`i Chapter.

Award recipients for each of the following projects will give a brief overview of their project:

Best Practice - Ka’u Community Development Plan, County of Hawai`i

Community Based Planning - Waimanalo Community Master Land Use Plan, SSFM International

Cultural Historic Preservation - E Ho`ohanohano A E Ho`omau: The Design Concept and Master Plan for the Kalaupapa Memorial, Ka `Ohana o Kalaupapa

Outstanding Planning – Kaua`i General Plan Update, County of Kaua`i and SSFM International

Public Education & Outreach - Resilience Strategy Preliminary Resilience Assessment, City and County of Honolulu, Office of Climate Change, Sustainability and Resiliency

Transportation Planning - Downtown Hilo Multimodal Master Plan, County of Hawai`i Department of Planning and SSFM International

Urban Design – Blaisdell Center Master Plan, AECOM, WCIT Architecture, Snohetta, Theatre Projects, Gensler, City and County of Honolulu Department of Planning & Permitting and Department of Enterprise Services

Resource URL



Kevin Butterbaugh

Kevin Butterbaugh, MLA, is a Principal / Vice-President in the AECOM Honolulu Office. He moved back to his home state of Hawaii in 2006 to direct AECOM’s Hawaii Design Planning + Economics practice. Kevin has considerable experience developing master plans, comprehensive resource management policies and plans, as well as extensive experience ... Read More

Kawika McKeague, AICP

Mark Kawika McKeague is a Kanaka Maoli cultural practitioner and a Planning Principal to G70, a Hawai‘i-based planning, architecture, and engineering firm. With 20 years of professional experience, Kawika facilitates the integration of indigenous knowledge systems towards sustainable design solutions that are responsive to Hawai'i's exceptional natural ... Read More

Renee Espiau

Renee Espiau is Chief of the Transit-Oriented Development (TOD) Branch for the City and County of Honolulu Department of Planning and Permitting. She oversees a variety of planning efforts, including many neighborhood TOD plans, the City's catalytic TOD projects, and policy changes necessary for creating better communities around Honolulu ... Read More

Matthew Gonser, AICP, CFM

Matthew Gonser joined the City and County of Honolulu’s Office of Climate Change, Sustainability and Resiliency in October 2017. His position focuses on coastal and water issues and opportunities, with attention to community planning and design, natural hazards mitigation, sea level rise and climate change adaptation, and green infrastructure ... Read More

Marie Williams, AICP

Marie Williams is a certified planner and manages the Kaua'i County Long Range Planning Division. She holds a Master’s Degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the Georgia Institute of Technology. also sits on the board of Kaua'i Path and is a member of DLNR’s Kaulunani ... Read More

Contact Info

Ralph Portmore, rportmore@gmail.com